Collected Works of Abraham Lincoln. Volume 5.
Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865.

Proclamation Concerning Taxes In Rebellious States [1]

July 1, 1862

By the President of the United States of America:

A Proclamation.

Whereas, in and by the second section of an Act of Congress passed on the 7th. day of June A.D. 1862, entitled ``An Act for the collection of direct taxes in insurrectionary districts within the United States and for other purposes'' it is made the duty of the President to declare, on or before the first day of July, then next following, by his proclamation, in what States and parts of States insurrection exists:

Now, therefore, be it known that I, Abraham Lincoln, President of the United States of America, do hereby declare and proclaim that the States of South Carolina, Florida, Georgia, Alabama, Louisiana, Texas, Mississippi, Arkansas, Tennessee, North Carolina; and the State of Virginia, except the following counties:--- Hancock, Brooke, Ohio, Marshall, Wetzel, Marion, Monongalia, Preston, Taylor, Pleasants, Tyler, Ritchie, Doddridge, Harrison, Wood, Jackson, Wirt, Roane, Calhoun, Gilmer, Barbour, Tucker, Lewis, Braxton, Upshur, Randolph, Mason, Putnam, Kanawha, Clay, Nicholas, Cabell, Wayne, Boone, Logan, Wyoming, Webster, Fayette and Raleigh, are now in insurrection and rebellion and,Page  299 by reason thereof, the civil authority of the United States is obstructed so that the provisions of the ``Act to provide increased revenue from imports to pay the interest on the public debt, and for other purposes,'' approved August fifth, eighteen hundred and sixty-one, cannot be peaceably executed, and that the taxes legally chargeable upon Real Estate under the Act last aforesaid, lying within the States and parts of States as aforesaid, together with a penalty of fifty per centum of said taxes shall be a lien upon the Tracts or Lots of the same, severally charged till paid.

In witness whereof, I have hereunto set my hand, and caused the seal of the United States to be affixed.


Done at the City of Washington, this first day of July, in the year of our Lord one thousand eight hundred and sixty-two, and of the Independence of the United States of America the eighty-sixth. ABRAHAM LINCOLN

By the President:

F. W. SEWARD, Acting Secretary of State.


[1]   DS, DNA FS RG 11, Proclamations; DfS, NAuE.