Arnold Schönberg Letters from Notable Musicians (1901-1951)
full text File Size: 10 K bytes | Request Material From This Collection for Use in the Special Collections Research Center

Summary Information

Title: Arnold Schönberg Letters from Notable Musicians
Creator: Schoenberg, Arnold, 1874-1951 Creator: Wallenstein, Alfred Creator: Furtwängler, Wilhelm, 1886-1954 Creator: Schnabel, Artur, 1882-1951 Creator: Mann, Klaus, 1906-1949 Creator: Jalowetz, Heinrich Creator: Leibowitz, René, 1913-1972
Inclusive dates: 1901-1951
Extent: .25 Linear Feet (One half-manuscript box)
This collection contains correspondence to Austrian composer Arnold Schönberg from fellow composers, musicians, and friends, including conductor Wilhelm Furtwängler, Austrian conductor Heinrich Jalowetz, Franco-Polish composer and conductor René Leibowitz, writer Klaus Mann, pianist Artur Schnabel, and American cellist and conductor Alfred Wallenstein. The correspondence covers five decades, including his move to the United States following the Nazis' rise to power in 1933.
Call number: ams008
Language: The collection is comprised of material in German, English, and French.
Repository: University of Michigan Library (Special Collections Research Center)