[2]   The Mormon State of Deseret, established with the capital at Salt Lake City, and with a constitution adopted March 4, 1849, had been refused admission to the Union in 1850 prior to the passage of the act creating the Territory of Utah. The Mormons never accepted the territorial government as more than temporary, and maintained the form of the Deseret organization until admission was granted in 1883. Conflict between the two authorities was frequent and sometimes violent, as in the present instance when Brigham Young as Deseret governor led the Mormons in refusal to obey federal laws. Federal troops were sent into the territory to maintain federal authority, but Mormon resistance delayed the march into Salt Lake City until June 26, 1858.

 [ return to text ]