Collected Works of Abraham Lincoln. Volume 2.
Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865.

Call for Whig Convention [1]

November 29, 1851


The whigs of the State of Illinois are respectfully requested to meet in Convention at SPRINGFIELD, on the FOURTH MONDAY OF DECEMBER NEXT, to take into consideration such action as upon consultation and deliberation may be deemed necessary, proper and effective, for the best interests of the party, and to secure a more thorough organization of the Whig party at an early day. (Signed.) [2]

Abraham Lincoln Isaac Hardy O. H. Browning

J. T. Stuart Horace Miller C. W. Craig

J. C. Conklin[g] E. B. Washburne J. L. Wilson

H. O. Merriman Henry Waterman B. G. Wheeler

Geo W. Meeker Ezra Griffith H. D. Risley

J. O. Norton Samuel Haller Levi Davis

Churchill Coffing Joseph T. Eccles B. S. Edwards

Joseph Gillespie Jas. W. Singleton And many others.


[1]   Illinois Journal, November 29, 1851.

[2]   Signers not previously identified: George W. Meeker, Chicago attorney;Page  114

Jesse O. Norton, representative in the legislature from Will County; Churchill Coffing of Peru; Isaac Hardy, hotel proprietor of LaSalle; Horace Miller, representative in the legislature from Winnebago County; Elihu B. Washburne of Galena, later a member of Congress and long a close political associate of Lincoln's; Henry Waterman (unidentified); Ezra Griffith of Fayette County; Samuel Haller of Montgomery County; Joseph T. Eccles of Montgomery County; James W. Singleton of Brown County; C. W. Craig of McHenry County; John L. Wilson of Will County; B. G. Wheeler (unidentified); Hamilton D. Risley of Will County.