Collected Works of Abraham Lincoln. Volume 1.
Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865.
November 24, 1840

Resolved, That the Clerk of this House inform the Senate that they have met, elected Wm. Lee D. Ewing their Speaker, John Calhoun their principal Clerk, George Davis their Assistant Clerk, Robert Smith their Engrossing and Enrolling Clerk, Wm. C. Murphy principal Door keeper, and Benjamin Roberts Assistant Door-keeper, and are now ready to proceed to Legislative business.