Collected Works of Abraham Lincoln. Volume 1.
Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865.

Resolution Adopted by Whig Meeting in Hall of House of Representatives [1]

February 27, 1839

Resolved, That a Committee of nine be appointed by the chair, to draft an address to the people of this State, setting forth the causes of our opposition to the present administration, and recommending all the opponents of the misrule of the government to unite upon the common platform of union and compromise. [2]


[1]   Quincy Whig, March 9, 1839. Lincoln's resolution was one of several offered and adopted. The caucus was held for the purpose of organizing for the impending campaign. If the address was prepared and published, it has not been found.

[2]   In pursuance of the resolution, the chair appointed the following: Abraham Lincoln, Orville H. Browning, William F. Thornton, William H. Davidson, Archibald Williams, Richard B. Servant, William B. Archer, George Churchill, and William Ross (ibid.).