Collected Works of Abraham Lincoln. Volume 1.
Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865.
Page  121

To Joseph Duncan [1]

To Springfield 25 July 1838.

His Excellency Joseph Duncan

Having learned that a vacancy has occured in the board of Commissioners of public works---by the resignation of J. W. Stephenson We take much pleasure in recommending to your favorable consideration for the vacancy thus created our fellow citizen John Dickson [2] of Ogle county whom we consider in every way fully qualified to discharge the duties of the office

Jesse B. Thomas Jr C R Matheny G. Elkin

J. Wright, Comr. A.G. Herndon A. Lincoln

Pub. Works. N. W. Edwards Gershom Jayne

J. F. Speed Th C Browne

Simeon Francis William Butler A. G. Henry [3]


[1]   DS, IHi.

[2]   John Dixon.

[3]   Of the co-signers with Lincoln, not previously identified, Jesse B. Thomas, Jr., was circuit judge; Joel Wright was a recently elected commissioner of public works; Charles R. Matheny was clerk of county commissioners' court; Joshua F. Speed was a merchant and partner in James Bell & Co.; William Butler was clerk of the circuit court; Garrett Elkin was sheriff; Gershom Jayne was a Springfield physician; Thomas C. Browne was Illinois Supreme Court judge.