Sean P. Cadagin recently earned a Ph.D. in history from Northern Illinois University and teaches at Concordia University, Chicago. His dissertation is entitled “Becoming the Land of Lincoln: Emancipation and the Construction of Race in Illinois, 1853—1892.”

Allen C. Guelzo is Luce Professor of Civil War Era Studies at Gettysburg College and two-time winner of the Lincoln Prize for Abraham Lincoln, Redeemer President (1999) and Lincoln’s Emancipation Proclamation: The End of Slavery in America (2004). His latest book is Fateful Lightning: A New History of the Civil War and Reconstruction (2012).

Nicole Etcheson is Alexander M. Bracken Professor of History at Ball State University. Her latest book, A Generation at War: The Civil War Era in a Northern Community (2011), was awarded the Avery Craven Prize by the Organization of American Historians.

M. Keith Harris recently earned a Ph.D. in history from the University of Virginia. His first book, Across the Bloody Chasm: Commemorative Cultures in the Wake of the Civil War, is under review with the University of North Carolina Press. He also hosts a Civil War multimedia network called Cosmic America (cosmicamerica.com).

Chandra Manning is associate professor of history at Georgetown University. Her book What This Cruel War Was Over: Soldiers, Slavery, and the Civil War (2007) was awarded the Avery Craven Prize by the Organization of American Historians.

Daniel Nagel teaches at the University of Mannheim, Germany. He is the author of “Von republikanischen Deutschen zu deutsch-amerikanischen Republikanern: Ein Beitrag zum Identitätswandel der deutschen Achtundvierziger in den Vereinigten Staaten, 1850–1861,” a study of the political identity of the German Forty-Eighters in the United States during the 1850s.

Helena Iles Papioannou is a research associate with the Papers of Abraham Lincoln working for the project at the National Archives in Washington, D.C.

Daniel W. Stowell is Director and Editor of the Papers of Abraham Lincoln, whose publications include the four-volume edition Papers of Abraham Lincoln: Legal Documents and Cases (2008), which received the Illinois State Historical Society’s Book of the Year Award.

Michael Vorenberg is associate professor of history at Brown University and author of Final Freedom: The Civil War, the Abolition of Slavery, and the Thirteenth Amendment (2001), a finalist for the Lincoln Prize. His latest book, The Emancipation Proclamation: A Brief History and Documents (2010), is a contribution to the Bedford Series in History and Culture.

Douglas L. Wilson, a two-time Lincoln Prize winner for Honor’s Voice: The Transformation of Abraham Lincoln (1998) and Lincoln’s Sword: The Presidency and the Power of Words (2006), is co-director of the Lincoln Studies Center at Knox College, Galesburg, Illinois.