Michael Burkhimer is an experienced teacher and much-published author of articles and reviews dealing with Abraham Lincoln. He has published two books, 100 Essential Lincoln Books (2003) and Lincoln's Christianity (2007). He serves as the review editor for the Lincoln Herald.

Jason Emerson is an independent scholar and writer whose work has appeared in a variety of historical journals and magazines. He is the author of The Madness of Mary Lincoln (2007) and Lincoln the Inventor (2009). He is currently working on a biography of Robert Todd Lincoln.

Graham A. Peck, a Hay-Nicolay Prize recipient, is an associate professor of history at Saint Xavier University.

Elizabeth Brown Pryor is the author of Clara Barton, Professional Angel (1988) and Reading the Man: A Portrait of Robert E. Lee through his Private Letters (2008), which won both the 2008 Lincoln Prize and Jefferson Davis Award.

Paul M. Zall is emeritus professor of English at California State University and research scholar at the Huntington Library. He is the author and editor of many books, including Abe Lincoln's Legacy of Laughter (2007) and Lincoln on Lincoln (1999).