Northwest Territory collection  1755-1822
full text File Size: 6 K bytes


The United States Congress established the Northwest Territory on July 13, 1787; the region included present-day Ohio, Michigan, Illinois, Indiana, and Wisconsin, as well as northeastern Minnesota. A territorial government was created in 1788, with Arthur St. Clair as governor from that year until 1802, when Charles Willing Byrd replaced him. In 1803, Ohio became a state and the Northwest Territory ceased to exist.