School of Public Health Building
The School of Public Health Building on Observatory Street was erected at a cost of $534,000. The building was a gift to the University from the W. K. Kellogg Foundation which gave the University approximately $400,000 for the purpose; the Rockefeller Foundation which made a grant of $300,000 more; and the National Foundation for Infantile Paralysis which gave another $50,000.
Construction was begun in May, 1942, and the building was completed and occupied late in 1943. It was designed by Lewis Sarvis to meet the needs of the School and is unique among buildings housing public health institutions because of the opportunity it affords for co-ordinating classroom work, research programs, and field experience.
The U-shaped building, of brick and glass construction, is three stories high and has 200 rooms. The front part contains classroom and administrative offices, a large circular library with pine paneling, a circular auditorium seating 200 persons, and seminar rooms. The building also has a health education museum; an outdoor class and recreation room on the roof; and a kitchen and a dining room for the staff.
The wings, two stories in height, are devoted to research. The north wing contains the department of industrial health on the first floor and public health engineering on the second. In the south wing are the virus disease laboratories, Page 1732where the work in poliomyelitis, influenza, and the parasitic diseases such as malaria, is carried on. In the east wing is the media department where materials for growing disease organisms are prepared and where the animals for experimentation are housed. In connection with the animals there is an ultramodern kitchen, an operating room, and X-ray equipment.
The greatest precautions were taken to provide for segregation and against contamination in designing the building, which was carefully planned to fulfill every requirement in the study of modern public health education.