Collected Works of Abraham Lincoln. Volume 8.
Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865.

Appointment of Directors of Union Pacific Railroad [1]

Executive Mansion, October 7th 1864.

By virtue of the authority conferred upon the President of the United States, by the thirteenth section of the act of Congress approved

Page  39July 2, 1864, amending the act to aid in the construction of a Railroad and Telegraph line from the Missouri river to the Pacific Ocean &c.

Jesse L. Williams of Indiana

George Ashmun of Massachusetts

Charles T. Sherman of Ohio

Springer Harbaugh of Pennsylvania, and

Timothy J. Carter of Illinois

are hereby appointed directors on the part of the Government of the United States, for the Union Pacific Railroad and Telegraph Company, to serve until the next ensuing regular election of directors for said Company, and until their successors are qualified.



[1]   DS, DNA NR RG 48, Department of Interior, Union Pacific Railroad, Package 239. John A. Dix, president of the Union Pacific, wrote Lincoln on October 4, 1864: ``I desire respectfully to call your attention to the fact that the term of service of the government Directors of this company expires tomorrow. As there will be a meeting of the Board of Directors at an early day, it is very desirable that the appointment of the five government Directors for the ensuing year should be made as soon as practicable.'' (DLC-RTL).