Collected Works of Abraham Lincoln. Volume 8.
Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865.


[1]   DS, DNA RG 46, Senate 38A F2; DS, DNA RG 233, House Executive Document No.56; ADf, DLC-RTL. The joint resolution (H.R. 126) approved on February 8, 1865, declared that Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Florida, Alabama, Mississippi, Louisiana, Texas, Arkansas, and Tennessee were in ``such condition on the eighth day of November, eighteen hundred and sixty-four, that no valid election . . . was held'' and that these states were not entitled to representation in the electoral college.