Great Britain. Secretary of State. A List of Offices in the North American and West Indian Colonies  1775
full text File Size: 9 K bytes | Add this to my bookbag


This volume contains a list of offices and office holders in the North American and West Indian colonies created by the British Secretary of State of the colonies in 1775. The item was created by or for William Legge, 2nd Earl of Dartmouth, who was Secretary of State from 1772 through November of 1775, when he resigned and was replaced by Lord Germain, 1st Viscount Sackville. The official title for this cabinet level office was "Colonial Secretary," a position created in 1768 to help manage the unruly American colonies.